President:

Mauro Giacca (UK)

President-Elect:

Christoph Maack (Germany)

Past-President:

Lucie Carrier (Germany)

Secretary:

Zoltán Papp (Hungary)

Treasurer:

Paula da Costa Martins (The Netherlands)

Council:

Sean Davidson (UK)

Nina Kaludercic (Italy)

Frank Lezoualc'h (France)

Lise Romàn Moltzau (Norway)

Grégoire Vandecasteele (France)

Luc Bertrand (Belgium)

Inês Falcão Pires (Portugal)

Date: April 2023

To: All ISHR-ES Members

# ISHR-European Section NEWSLETTER April 2023

Dear ISHR-ES Member.

# 37th Annual Meeting of the International Society for Heart Research (ISHR) European Section, 10-13 July 2023, Porto, Portugal

We would like to remind you for important dates in relation to the 37<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of the International Society for Heart Research (ISHR) European Section, which will be held in **Porto, Portugal** from **July 10<sup>th</sup> to the 13<sup>th</sup>. Early bird** registration will be available **until May 15<sup>th</sup>**, and **regular registration** will be open **until June 26<sup>th</sup>**. **Onsite registration** will be also available. All additional information can be found at the meeting website: **https://skyroscongressos.pt/ishr2023/**. We hope that you will be able to attend the meeting.

## Travel grant applications to our forthcoming ISHR-ES Meeting in Porto, 10-13 July, 2023

ISHR-ES will award 10 Travel Grants of 500 Euros each to support travel and/or housing of applicants. Eligibility criteria for these travel grants are: 1/ PhD research students only with a submitted abstract, 2/ active ISHR-ES membership status. To apply, please submit the following as a single PDF file to pappz@med.unideb.hu: 1/ Letter from supervisor confirming PhD status, 2/ Copy of your submitted abstract, and 3/ 2-page CV. The deadline for applications is May 15<sup>th</sup>. The decision on applications is June 1<sup>st</sup>. The winners will be announced during the Meeting and on our website. We look forward to receiving your applications and to welcoming you in Porto for an exciting meeting!

# New ISHR-ES Council Members and new President-Elect and Secretary from June 2023

We would like to welcome **Davor Pavlovic**, **Monika Gladka**, and **Gabriele G. Schiattarella** as new Council members and thank **Lucie Carrier**, **Lise Román Moltzau**, and **Zoltán Papp** for their dedicated service and contributions to the ISHR-ES Council. We thank all other candidates who submitted their highly valuable applications. The council elected **Frank Lezoualc'h** as new **President-Elect** and **Sean Davidson** as new **Secretary** of **ISHR-ES**.

### **New ISHR-ES Ketty Schwartz Award 2023**

Starting year, we will have a new ISHR-ES award for sustained contributions to ISHR-ES. The 2023 winner of this award is **Prof Manuela Zaccolo (UK)**. She has been invited to give a special lecture at our ISHR-ES Porto meeting.

# ISHR-ES Medal of Merit 2023

At our recent ISHR-ES Winter Council Meeting in Würzburg, the Council decided to award **Prof Guy Vassort (France)** and **Prof Renée Ventura-Clapier (France)** the ISHR-ES Medal of Merit for their sustained and outstanding contributions to cardiovascular science. The official awards will be given at our ISHR-ES Porto meeting.

# Call for session proposals for the 38<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of the International Society for Heart Research (ISHR) European Section 11-14 June 2024, Toulouse, France

#### ISHR Cardiovascular Webinar Series

Lectures of the highly successful ISHR Cardiovascular Webinar Series are available on the internet at the following link: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxVfdGmm-jYoEgRqWEHlbSA

#### **ISHR-ES Membership**

We would like to remind our members to ensure that their membership profiles and paid membership dues are up to date – this a can be done online **here**.

# **ISHR-ES** is on Twitter

You can also follow the events of ISHR-ES on Twitter at: https://twitter.com/ISHR\_ES

Best wishes,

Zoltán Papp Secretary of ISHR European Section pappz@med.unideb.hu